Categories
Black Ennui. Text

Jhene Aiko Pays Tribute To Bill Withers With New Performance + Touching Letter

(via OkayPlayer) // By Scott Heins.


We live in a day and age where young people don’t have much patience. No patience to read anything longer than 140 characters. No patience to research. No patience to study the history of the art they want so desperately to be apart of. Not only is there a lack of patience, but a lack of respect. There’s not a lot of respect being given to the true artists that came before us. Everyone is so hell bent on being THE best that no one is taking the time to honor the individuals who have influenced us.

Well, I’m getting older and I realize that I am just a compilation of all the great creators who came before me. Not only is it my duty, but it is also my pleasure to show my appreciation.

Continue reading on OkayPlayer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.